The public library has a recommends sheet of authors that  have a continuity  : If you liked Maeve Binchy you might like”

  • Anita Brooker
  • Catherine Cookson
  • Janet Dailey
  • Elizabeth Goudge
  • Emily Grayson
  • Kristin Hannah
  • J.Lynn Hinton
  • Eve  Ibbotson

More read alikes for Maeve Binchy:

K.C. McKinnon

Fern Micheals

Judith Micheal

Rosamunde Picher

Luanne Rice

Francine Rivers

Anne River Siddons

Katherine Stone

Joanna Trollope

Anne Tyler

Robert James Waller

Sarah Woodhouse

Attribution: Thompson Merritt library System Merritt PUblic library, Merritt BC Public information counter.

A source at the library said it’s for people whom read Maeve Binchy and is probably reciprocal to the rest of the writers on the list. Binchey was a writer from Ireland who died in 2012 at the age of 72. She accomplished 7 notable literary awards and wrote Fiction, Short story and travel.

Since her death its obvious that her readers will be looking for works similar to the ones she produced in her lifetime.

Quotes from her life accouring to Wikiquote:http://en.wikiquote.org/wiki/Maeve_Binchy

  • I write exactly as I speak, so therefore I would not say any writer influenced me at all.
  • I don’t say I was ‘proceeding down a thoroughfare’, I say I ‘walked down the road’. I don’t say I ‘passed a hallowed institute of learning’, I say I ‘passed a school’. You don’t wear all your jewellery at once. You’re much more believable if you talk in your own voice.
  • It’s like if you don’t go to a dance you can never be rejected but you’ll never get to dance either.
    • On having her first book rejected again and again. bbc.co.uk
  • (A) writer, a man I loved and he loved me and we got married and it was great and is still great. He believed I could do anything, just as my parents had believed all those years ago, and I started to write fiction and that took off fine. And he loved Ireland, and the fax was invented so we writers could live anywhere we liked, instead of living in London near publishers.
  • Suddenly they asked me, as only the French would, ‘Madame, what is your philosophy of life?’ What a cosmic question, but I had to answer, and answer quickly, because it was live. So I said, in French, ‘I think that you’ve got to play the hand that you’re dealt and stop wishing for another hand.’
    • Recalling being invited to appear on French TV on what she described as “a terrifying serious program about books”. nydailynews.com
  • I once tried to write a novel about revenge. It’s the only book I didn’t finish. I couldn’t get into the mind of the person who was plotting vengeance.
  • I often wonder that if I had met Hitler, I reckon I might have found some streak of decency in him.
    • On her preference for issues that could be argued with from either side. nydailynews.com
  • On my 100th birthday, piloting Gordon and myself into the side of a mountain.

Today in history: January 14th 2005

The Huygens probe lands on Saturn’s moon Titan

